most interesting

UNESCO Heritage Sites

Lut-Wüste (Datum der Einschreibung: 2016)

Die riesige Wüste im Südosten des Landes, die Dasht-e-Lut („Wüste der Leere“), ist einer der heißesten Orte der Welt. Weitgehend frei von Tier- und Pflanzenwelt, liegt seine Schönheit in der Anwesenheit spektakulärer winderodierter Landschaftsformen und der Vielfalt seiner hohen, linearen, sternförmigen oder trichterförmigen feinen Sanddünen. Dank ihrer extremen klimatischen Bedingungen ist die Lut-Wüste eine unberührte […]

Hyrkanische Wälder (Datum der Einschreibung: 2019)

Die hyrkanischen Wälder erstrecken sich entlang des Kaspischen Meeres im Nordwesten des Iran. Ihre Entstehung reicht mindestens 30 Millionen Jahre zurück. Mit Hilfe des feuchten Klimas, das in dieser Gegend herrscht, zeichneten sie üppige grüne Landschaften, die im Gegensatz zu der Trockenheit des restlichen Iran stehen. Ein großes Konservatorium für Wildtiere, es gibt eine große […]

Transiranische Eisenbahn (Datum der Einschreibung: 2021)

Die Einstufung der Transiranischen Eisenbahn als UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe im Jahr 2021 ist eine Belohnung für eine außergewöhnliche Eisenbahnstrecke, die vom Kaspischen Meer bis zum Persischen Golf auf einer Strecke von fast 1400 Kilometern Berge und Flüsse, Wälder und Ebenen durchquert und verbindet zwei Enden des Landes. 1938 fertiggestellt und vom iranischen Staat finanziert, ist es eines […]

Der persische Qanat (Datum der Einschreibung: 2016)

To fight against the ever- present problem of aridity in Iran, since antiquity underground galleries, many kilometers long, have been dug collectively to channel water from the aquifer springs of the foothills to the villages and fields. This system of underground canals or qanats is also a testament to the equitable and peaceful sharing of […]

Der persische Garten (Datum der Einschreibung: 2011)

Seit mehr als 2500 Jahren verbindet die Gartenkunst im Iran Natur und Kunstfertigkeit. Es ist ein „gelernter“ Garten, der ohne fundierte Kenntnisse in Bewässerung, Architektur, Landwirtschaft und Botanik nicht hätte angelegt werden können. Als Ort raffinierter Kraft und Spiegelung des Paradieses ist der Persische Garten berauschend und lädt immer zu Meditation und Poesie ein. Seit […]

Tchogha Zanbil (Datum der Einschreibung: 1979)

In einer ausgedehnten bewässerten Steppe in der Region Susa gepflanzt ist hier die Zikkurat von Tchoga Zanbil. Sie wurde im 14. Jahrhundert v. Chr. erbaut und war das Herz einer heiligen Stadt, in der sich das göttliche Pantheon des elamitischen Königreichs versammelte. Es ist besser erhalten als seine mesopotamischen Gegenstücke und ist ein fabelhaftes architektonisches […]

Takht-e Soleyman (Datum der Einschreibung: 2010)

Der Takht-e Sulaiman-Komplex liegt im Nordwesten des Iran in einer inspirierenden Landschaft mit ruhenden Vulkankegeln. Dort wurde um einen artesischen See ein Kultkomplex errichtet, der insbesondere aus Feuer- und Wassertempeln besteht. Zweifellos war diese Stätte einer der Höhepunkte des Zoroastrismus, der offiziellen Religion des Sassanidenreichs, die noch im Iran praktiziert wird. Takht-e Sulaiman ist auch […]

Historischer Basarkomplex von Tabriz (Datum der Einschreibung: 2010)

Der historische Basar von Tabriz ist wahrscheinlich so alt wie die Stadt selbst. Es breitet sich wie eine Art endloses Labyrinth aus, das aus ineinandergreifenden Gehäusen und architektonischen Strukturen aus Backstein besteht. Sie allein zeugt von dem seit dem Mittelalter im Iran entwickelten Handelssystem und ist bis heute ein faszinierender Ort.

Susa (Datum der Einschreibung: 2015)

Die Geschichte der iranischen Archäologie begann im 19. Jahrhundert in Susa. Die Stätte liegt im südöstlichen Tiefland des Iran an der Konvergenz alter Handelsrouten zwischen Mesopotamien und der iranischen Hochebene. Susa war seit dem 5. Jahrtausend v. In Susa, einem großen Verwaltungszentrum, wurden die ersten Schriften verfasst.

Soltaniyeh (Datum der Einschreibung: 2005)

Soltanieh bedeutet „Stadt des Sultans“. Von dieser mächtigen Hauptstadt, die im 14. Jahrhundert gegründet wurde, ist heute nur noch das Mausoleum ihres Gründers Uldjâitu, Sultan der mongolischen Dynastie der Ilchaniden, erhalten. Das Gebäude wird von einer monumentalen blauen Kuppel gekrönt und war einst mit türkisfarbenem Steingut und bemaltem Stuck verziert. Das Gebäude ist eines der […]

Shahr-i Sokhta (Datum der Einschreibung: 2014)

Shahr-e-Sokhta ist die „verbrannte Stadt“, die 1800 v. Chr. von einem Feuer verwüstet wurde. In der Provinz Baluchestan im Osten des Iran gelegen, sicherte diese um 3000 v. Chr. gegründete wohlhabende Stadt den Fernaustausch zwischen Afghanistan, dem Industal und dem Westen der iranischen Hochebene. Wie die Stadt Susa zeugt Shahr-i-Sokhta von der Entwicklung sehr ausgefeilter […]

Archäologische Landschaft der Sassaniden in der Region Fars (Datum der Einschreibung: 2018)

Im Zentrum des Iran liegt die Region Fars, die Wiege der persisch-sassanidischen Zivilisation (3.-7. unserer Zeitrechnung). Als selbsternannte Erben der Achämeniden bauten sie befestigte Städte und Paläste, die noch heute sichtbar sind. Eingebettet in grandiose Landschaften zeugen die Stätten von Savestan, Firouzabad und Bishapour vom Fortbestehen persischer Traditionen sowie parthischer und römischer Beiträge.

Persepolis (Datum der Einschreibung: 1979)

Persepolis ist die „Stadt der Perser“. In der Region Fars gelegen, wurde diese grandiose Stätte auf einer monumentalen Plattform am Fuße eines Berges installiert und auf einer endlosen, fruchtbaren Ebene eröffnet. Gegründet vom Achämenen-König Darius I. im 6. Jahrhundert v. und dann von Alexander dem Großen zerstört, bleibt Persepolis ein faszinierender und unumgänglicher Ort, sowohl […]

Pasargadae (Datum der Einschreibung: 2004)

Located at 1800 meters above sea level in the center of the Iranian plateau, Pasargadae was founded in the 6th century BC by Cyrus II the Great. First capital of an extraordinary Persian empire, sacralized by the presence of the tomb of its creator, its palaces were arranged around a gigantic irrigated garden. The place […]

Meidan Emam, Isfahan (Datum der Einschreibung: 1979)

Der gigantische „Imam’s Square“ ist einer der majestätischsten Plätze der Welt. Seit Anfang des 17. Jahrhunderts ist es das Herz von Isfahan. Gesäumt von Arkaden mit Ständen, geschmückt von einem Palast, zwei bewundernswerten Moscheen und dem Eingang zum fabelhaften historischen Basar der Stadt: Dieser Platz ist wirklich königlich. Früher hieß es das „Bild der Welt“!

Masjed-e Jāmé von Isfahan (Datum der Einschreibung: 2012)

Gegründet im 8. Jahrhundert, kurz nach der arabisch-muslimischen Eroberung, entfaltet die Große Moschee von Esfahan vor den Augen ihrer Besucher eine tausendjährige Geschichte. Aus Ziegeln, Steinen und Steingut erbaut, ist sie eine der wichtigsten Moscheen der islamischen Kunst! Seine Größe und Raffinesse zeugen von der unaufhörlichen architektonischen Kreativität des Iran, die immer auf der Suche […]

Historische Stadt Yazd (Datum der Einschreibung: 2017)

Die zentrale geografische Lage von Yazd machte es zu einer der großen Kreuzungen der Seidenstraße. Als Handelsstadt am Rande der Kavir-Wüste soll ihre Geschichte bis in den Anfang unserer Zeitrechnung zurückreichen. Die Stadt ist bekannt für ihre zoroastrische Gemeinde, aber auch für die offensichtliche Schönheit ihrer irdenen Architektur. Stadt der Wüstengrenzen, Yazd lebt in seinem […]

Gonbad-e Qābus (Datum der Einschreibung: 2012)

In der Nähe des Kaspischen Meeres gelegen, entspricht die Region Gorgan dem Hyrkanien der griechischen Geographen. Hier befindet sich die Stadt Gonbas-e Qabus, die für ihren majestätischen Ziegelstein-Begräbnisturm bekannt ist, der im 11.

Golestan-Palast (Datum der Einschreibung: 2013)

Der Golestan-Palast ist ein Zeugnis der Umbrüche des modernen Iran. Im historischen Zentrum von Teheran gelegen, war es während des 19. Jahrhunderts der offizielle Palast der Qadjar-Herrscher. Hier wurden die Schahs gekrönt, hier ist auch die iranische Kunst des 19. Jahrhunderts, die Synthese zwischen persischer dekorativer Kunst und der europäischen Architektur, am sichtbarsten.

Kulturlandschaft von Maymand (Datum der Einschreibung: 2015)

Am südlichen Ende des Zagros, in einer Halbwüste, liegt die Region Maymand. Seminomadismus ist hier die Regel und die Wirtschaft basiert auf Agro-Pastoralismus. Das Vieh wird je nach Jahreszeit von den Tälern ins Hochland getrieben. Die Bewohner leben in den Mulden der Täler in einem Höhlenhabitat. So viele Praktiken, die gestern noch das Leben vieler […]

Kulturlandschaft Hawraman/Uramanat (Datum der Einschreibung: 2021)

Die wunderschönen Landschaften von Hawraman/Uramanat liegen im Herzen des Zagros-Gebirges. Hier leben seit Jahrtausenden die Hawrami, ein kurdischer Agro-Pastoral-Stamm. Diese ununterbrochene Präsenz ist das Ergebnis einer Anpassung an eine raue bergige Umgebung, die sich in der Anordnung des stufenförmigen Lebensraums an den Hängen des Zagros und in der wiederholten Wanderschaft zwischen den Tälern und dem […]

Bisotun (Datum der Einschreibung: 2006)

Behistun liegt an der Handelsroute zwischen dem iranischen Hochland und Mesopotamien und ist eine der ältesten Stätten im Iran und auch eine der erstaunlichsten. Dort ließ der persische König Darius I. 521 v.

Bam und seine Kulturlandschaft (Datum der Einschreibung: 2004)

Bam liegt im Südosten des Iran, in der unwirtlichen Wüste Lut. Seit Beginn unserer Zeitrechnung hat diese aussergewöhnliche, von Mauern umgebene Stadt aus Lehmhäusern ihren Wohlstand aus ihrer strategischen Lage an der Seidenstraße und ihrer renommierten Herstellung von Seiden- und Baumwollstoffen bezogen. Durch ein ausgeklügeltes System von Bewässerungskanälen bewässert, war Bam eine der großen Oasen […]

Armenische Klosterensembles des Iran (Datum der Einschreibung: 2008)

Im Nordwesten des Iran zeugen die Klosterkomplexe St. Thaddäus, St. Stepanos und die Kapelle St. Maria von Dzordor vom kontinuierlichen Austausch zwischen armenischer, byzantinischer und persischer Kultur und sind gleichzeitig ein perfektes Beispiel für armenische Architekturtraditionen. Sie bilden einen im Nahen Osten einzigartigen Komplex.

most interesting

UNESCO Heritage Sites

Lut Desert (Date of Inscription: 2016)

Vast desert located in the south-east of the country, the Dasht-e-Lut (“desert of the void”) is one of the hottest places in the world. Largely devoid of animal and plant life, its beauty lies in the presence of spectacular wind-eroded landforms and the variety of its high, linear, star-shaped or funnel-shaped fine sand dunes. Thanks […]

Hyrcanian Forests (Date of Inscription: 2019)

The Hyrcanian forests stretch along the Caspian Sea in northwestern Iran. Their formation dates back at least 30 million years. Helped by the humid climate which reigns in this area, they drew lush landscapes of greenery which are in contrast to the aridity of the rest of Iran. A great conservatory of wildlife, there is […]

Trans-Iranian Railway (Date of Inscription: 2021)

The classification in 2021 of the Trans-Iranian Railway as a Unesco World Heritage Site is a reward for an extraordinary railway route that runs from the Caspian Sea to the Persian Gulf, a distance of almost 1400 kilometers, crossing mountains and rivers, forests and plains and linking two ends of the country. Completed in 1938 […]

The Persian Qanat (Date of Inscription: 2016)

To fight against the ever- present problem of aridity in Iran, since antiquity underground galleries, many kilometers long, have been dug collectively to channel water from the aquifer springs of the foothills to the villages and fields. This system of underground canals or qanats is also a testament to the equitable and peaceful sharing of […]

The Persian Garden (Date of Inscription: 2011)

For more than 2500 years, in Iran, the art of gardening combines nature and artifice. It is a “learned” garden that could not have been created without a profound knowledge of irrigation, architecture, agriculture and botany. A place of refined power and reflection of paradise, the Persian garden is intoxicating and always invites meditation and […]

Tchogha Zanbil (Date of Inscription: 1979)

Planted in a vast irrigated steppe in the region of Susa here is the ziggurat of Tchoga Zanbil. Built in the 14th century BC, it was the heart of a sacred city where the divine pantheon of the Elamite kingdom was gathered. Better preserved than its Mesopotamian counterparts, it is a fabulous brick architectural work, […]

Takht-e Soleyman (Date of Inscription: 2010)

The Takht-e Sulaiman complex is located in the northwest of Iran in an inspiring landscape dotted with dormant volcanic cones. There, around an artesian lake, was built a cult complex composed notably of temples dedicated to fire and water. No doubt that this site was one of the high places of Zoroastrianism, the official religion […]

Tabriz Historic Bazaar Complex (Date of Inscription: 2010)

The historic bazaar of Tabriz is probably as old as the city itself. It spreads out like a sort of endless labyrinth, made of interlocking enclosures and brick architectural structures. It alone bears witness to the commercial system developed in Iran since the Middle Ages and remains a fascinating place to this day.

Susa (Date of Inscription: 2015)

The history of Iranian archaeology began in Susa in the 19th century. The site is located in the southeastern lowlands of Iran at the convergence of ancient trade routes between Mesopotamia and the Iranian plateau. Active since the 5th millennium B.C., Susa was the capital of the Elamites, then of the Achaemenid Persians and played […]

Soltaniyeh (Date of Inscription: 2005)

Soltanieh means the “city of the sultan”. Of this powerful capital founded in the 14th century, only the mausoleum of its founder, Uldjâitu, sultan of the Mongolian dynasty of Ilkhanides, remains today. The building is crowned with a monumental blue dome and was once decorated with turquoise earthenware and painted stucco. The building is one […]

Shushtar Historical Hydraulic System (Date of Inscription: 2009)

Shushtar is located in the province of Khuzistan. Located on a cliff overlooking the Karûn river, the city took advantage of its situation by developing a clever hydraulic system. In fact, in a region where water is scarce, it was always omnipresent in Shushtar, for the men, to turn the mills and for the agriculture. […]

Shahr-i Sokhta (Date of Inscription: 2014)

Shahr-e-Sokhta is the “burnt city”, ravaged by fire in 1800 BC. Located in the province of Baluchestan, in the east of Iran, this prosperous city founded around 3000 BC, ensured the long-distance exchanges between Afghanistan, the Indus valley and the west of the Iranian plateau. Like the city of Susa, Shahr-i-Sokhta testifies to the development […]

Sassanid Archaeological Landscape of Fars Region (Date of Inscription: 2018)

In the center of Iran, the region of Fars is the cradle of the Persian-Sassanid civilization (3rd-7th of our era). Self-proclaimed heirs of the Achaemenids, they built fortified cities and palaces still visible today. Integrated into grandiose landscapes, the sites of Savestan, Firouzabad and Bishapour bear witness to the persistence of Persian traditions as well […]

Persepolis (Date of Inscription: 1979)

Persepolis is the “city of the Persians”. Located in the region of Fars, this grandiose site was installed on a monumental platform located at the foot of a mountain and opened on an endless, fertile plain. Founded by the Achaemenes king Darius I in the 6th century B.C. and then destroyed by Alexander the Great, […]

Pasargadae (Date of Inscription: 2004)

Located at 1800 meters above sea level in the center of the Iranian plateau, Pasargadae was founded in the 6th century BC by Cyrus II the Great. First capital of an extraordinary Persian empire, sacralized by the presence of the tomb of its creator, its palaces were arranged around a gigantic irrigated garden. The place […]

Meidan Emam, Esfahan (Date of Inscription: 1979)

The gigantic “Imam’s Square” is one of the most majestic squares in the world. Since the beginning of the 17th century, it has been the heart of Esfahan. Lined with arcades occupied by stalls, graced by a palace, two admirable mosques and the entrance to the fabulous historical bazaar of the city: this square is […]

Masjed-e Jāmé of Isfahan (Date of Inscription: 2012)

Founded in the 8th century, shortly after the Arab-Muslim conquest, the Great Mosque of Esfahan unfolds before the eyes of its visitors a thousand years of history. Built of bricks, stones and earthenware, it is one of the most important mosques of Islamic art! Its grandeur and refinement testify to the incessant architectural creativity of […]

Historic City of Yazd (Date of Inscription: 2017)

The central geographical location of Yazd made it one of the great crossroads on the Silk Road. A trading city on the edge of the Kavir Desert, its history is said to date back to the beginning of our era. The city is known for its Zoroastrian community but also for the obvious beauty of […]

Gonbad-e Qābus (Date of Inscription: 2012)

Located near the Caspian Sea, the Gorgan region corresponds to the Hyrcania of the Greek geographers. This is where the city of Gonbas-e Qabus is located, famous for its majestic brick funeral tower built in the 11th century to a star-shaped plan for as the resting place of the Ziyarid emir Qabus.

Golestan Palace (Date of Inscription: 2013)

The Golestan Palace is a testimony to the upheavals of modern Iran. Located in the historical center of Tehran, it was the official palace of the Qadjar rulers throughout the 19th century. It is there that the shahs were crowned, it is also there that the Iranian art of the XIXth century, synthesis between Persian […]

Cultural Landscape of Maymand (Date of Inscription: 2015)

It is at the southern end of the Zagros, in a semi-desert area that the Maymand region is located. Semi-nomadism is the rule here and the economy is based on agro-pastoralism. The cattle are driven from the valleys to the highlands according to the seasons. The inhabitants live in the hollows of the valleys in […]

Cultural Landscape of Hawraman/Uramanat (Date of Inscription: 2021)

The beautiful landscapes of Hawraman/Uramanat are located in the heart of the Zagros Mountains. This is where the Hawrami, a Kurdish agro-pastoral tribe, have lived for thousands of years. This uninterrupted presence is the result of an adaptation to a harsh mountainous environment perceptible in the layout of the habitat built in tiers on the […]

Bisotun (Date of Inscription: 2006)

Located on the trade route between the Iranian highlands and Mesopotamia, Behistun is one of the oldest sites in Iran and also one of the most amazing. It is there that on a cliff dominating the surrounding plain the Persian king Darius I had a monumental bas-relief engraved in 521 BC, recounting his military exploits […]

Bam and its Cultural Landscape (Date of Inscription: 2004)

Bam is located in the southeast of Iran, in the inhospitable desert of Lut. From the beginning of our era, this extraordinary walled city made of mud dwellings drew its prosperity from its strategic location on the silk route and its renowned production of silk and cotton fabrics. Irrigated by a clever system of irrigation […]

Armenian Monastic Ensembles of Iran (Date of Inscription: 2008)

In northwestern Iran, the monastic complexes of St. Thaddeus, St. Stepanos, and the Chapel of St. Mary of Dzordor bear witness to the continuous exchange between Armenian, Byzantine, and Persian cultures while being a perfect illustration of Armenian architectural traditions. They constitute a complex unique in the Middle East.